Skip to main content

NSW Bike Week 2018

It’s one of the most enjoyable and popular events on the cycling calendar.

This year NSW Bike Week is on from Saturday 22 to Sunday 30 September. This week-long celebration of all things cycling will host over 55 events across NSW from Ballina to Bega.

People of all ages are welcome to enjoy a variety of themed activities including, interactive workshops and fun rides. But if you’re looking for a two-wheeled challenge, there’s even a 40km road ride on offer.

So if you’re ready to get fit, have fun and learn about your local neighbourhood, now’s the time to get on your bike!

Find an event near you

Date Time Event name Location Contact
Wednesday 26 September 6.30am - 9am Lane Cove's Bike Week Breakfast In the car park adjacent to 71 Longueville Road, Lane Cove Val Stamper
vstamper@lanecove.nsw.gov.au
9911 3576
Saturday 22 September

10am workshop for children aged 5-8 years

12.30pm workshop for children aged 9-12 years.

Free Kids Bike Skills Workshops Blackheath Public School. Leichhardt Street, Blackheath. Suzan Mehmet
smehmet@bmcc.nsw.gov.au
Sunday 23 September 9.30am - 12.30pm Free Fundamentals Bike Skills Workshop for Adults To be confirmed at the time of booking Val Stamper
vstamper@lanecove.nsw.gov.au
9911 3576
Sunday 23 September 11am Cycle Do South Windsor Family Centre near Netball and Tennis Courts at 6 Greenhills Way from 11am to 2pm.
Please follow signs for free participant's parking
Judy Wong
safety@hawkesbury.nsw.gov.au
(02) 4560 4498 or on 23 September call 0401 710 540
Sunday 23 September 1pm - 3.30pm Free Intermediate Cycle Skills Workshop for Adults To be confirmed at the time of booking Val Stamper
vstamper@lanecove.nsw.gov.au
9911 3576
Thursday 27 September 6pm - 9pm Free Bike Maintenance Workshop To be confirmed at the time of booking Val Stamper
vstamper@lanecove.nsw.gov.au
9911 3576
Sunday 16 September 10am NSW Bike Week 2018 - Ready to Ride Day Willowdale Park - Corner Jamboree Avenue & Baden Powell Avenue David Behrens
david.behrens@campbelltown.nsw.gov.au
0457 760 711
Sunday 23 September 11am Inner West Big Bike Day War Memorial Park, Leichhardt NSW Inner West Council Customer Service
9392 5000
Satuday 22 September 9am Beginner's Chocolate Ride Cooks River Cycleway, Croydon Avenue, Croydon Park Bicycle NSW & Ashfield Bicycle User Group. Heather; Ph 0408 227 133
Sunday, 30 September 2018 7am Seven Hills & M7 Brewer St & Majors Bay Road, Concord NSW 2137 Bicycle NSW & BayBUG. Contact Rolf Muller - 0403 754 026. Call to Confirm
Saturday 22 September; Saturday 29 September (same event on two different days) 7.30am BIKEast Supa Saturday Ride Bus shelter on Dacey Avenue, Kensington NSW 2033 Bicycle NSW & BIKEast. Confirm attendance via Meetup group BIKEast
Wednesday 26 September 10am Prospect Resevoir 26.5km return Holroyd Gardens - Pitt St & Walpole St, Merrylands NSW 2160 Bicycle NSW & Her Cycling Connections. Book online. Contact Lisa Nicholls - 0412 893 412
Friday 28 September 10am Friday Social Ride Barry Wilde Bridge Fountain, Parramatta NSW 2150 Bicycle NSW & Addventageous. Book online. Contact Lisa Nicholls - 0412 893 412
Friday 28 September 12.30pm E-scape The Office Barry Wilde Bridge Fountain, Parramatta NSW 2150 Bicycle NSW & Addventageous. Book online. Contact Lisa Nicholls - 0412 893 412
Saturday 29 September 10am Coffee Ride Barry Wilde Bridge Fountain, Parramatta NSW 2150 Bicycle NSW & Addventageous. Book online. Contact Lisa Nicholls - 0412 893 412
Sunday 30 September 8am On Your Bike @ Rhodes The Connection, 30 Shoreline Drive, Rhodes NSW 2138 Michelle Carpenter
michelle.carpenter@canadabay.nsw.gov.au
0418 874 223
Sunday 23 September 9.30am On Your Bike at Heffron Park Heffron Pedal Park, Jersey Rd, Maroubra Ken Shepherd
ken.shepherd@randwick.nsw.gov.au
Tuesday 25 September 6am-9am Bike Week Breakfast Elouera Reserve, Waterloo Road, Macquarie Park Lisa Pears
lpears@ryde.nsw.gov.au
0423 896 154
Saturday 29 September 9am Essential Skills Workshop Meadowbank Park Netball Courts, Adelaide St, West Ryde Lisa Pears
lpears@ryde.nsw.gov.au
0423 896 154
Sunday 23 September 9am-12pm Community Bike Rides from Brownes Farm Reserve, Hoxton Park Brownes Farm Reserve, Hoxton Park and the surrounding area

Stella Qu
Qus@liverpool.nsw.gov.au

Maree Stacy 
Maree.stacy@health.nsw.gov.au

Sunday 23 September 10am-2pm Celebrate Bike Week at Narrabeen Lagoon Middle Creek Reserve, Narrabeen Lagoon, Cromer from 10am-2pm Karen Menzies
roadsafety@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au
0419 695 299
Sunday 23 September Registration 10-12pm. The day's activities conclude at Lucas Reserve at 2pm. Bike to Beach Sutherland www.sutherland.nsw.gov.au/Bike2Beach
0419 695 299
Tuesday 25 September 8am Strathfield Ride to School & Work Day N/A Sam Shaw
sam.shaw@strathfield.nsw.gov.au
0427 453 609
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Saturday 22 September 10am Shoalhaven Cycles Lions Club Park, Dolphin Point Kym Snow
kym.snow@shoalhaven.nsw.gov.au
0437 340 319
Saturday 29 September 9am Shoalhaven Cycles- White Sands Park White Sands Park Huskisson Kym Snow
kym.snow@shoalhaven.nsw.gov.au
0437 340 319
Saturday 22 September 8am Ride the Gong - Bike Week 2018 Lang Park, Marine Drive Wollongong near foreshore. A Recycled Bike Wheel Workshop is also taking place at the Wollongong Youth Centre. Clementina Velasco
rso@wollongong.nsw.gov.au
(02) 4227 7111
Saturday 29 September 10.30am Kiama Classic Family Fun Bike Ride Black Beach, Kiama Harbour to Kendall's Beach and return. Janelle Burns
janelleb@kiama.nsw.gov.au
0419 212 571
Saturday 22 September 9.30am Shellharbour Bike About Lake Illawarra PCYC Jenny Davies
jenny.davies@shellharbour.nsw.gov.au
0421 044 113
Sunday 30 September 10am Central Coast Safe Cycling Skills Workshop and Bike Maintenance Workshop Central Coast Lifetime Learning Centre (CARES facility) at Palmdale Phone 4350 5387 to book or for more information.
Wednesday 26 September 6am Bike2Gosford Breakfast William Street Mall, Gosford Nigel Tebb
nigel.tebb@health.nsw.gov.au
Date Time Event Location Contact Details
Sunday 29 September 2pm Scone Spring Cycle Scone Nicky Western
nwestern@upperhunter.nsw.gov.au
0414 806 074
Sunday 30 September 8.30am Scone Spring Cycle Scone Nicky Western
nwestern@upperhunter.nsw.gov.au
0414 806 074
Friday 21 - Sunday 23 September 5pm Dungog PEDALFEST Dungog, NSW Edwin John Walton
wendyjohn@bigpond.com
(02) 6558 8272
Sunday 23 September 10am 2018 Newcastle Walking and Cycling Festival (incorporating the 2018 Tweed Ride) Foreshore Park, to be confirmed by Council. Sam Reich
sreich@bigpond.net.au
0418 402 644
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Sunday 23 September 10.30pm Goulburn Community Bike Ride Carr Confoy Oval Tracey Norberg
tracey.norberg@goulburn.nsw.gov.au
0409 986 691
Sunday 30 September 10am BBT Bike Ride Bong Bong Track, Railway Road Burradoo, Southern Highlands  Bowral NSW Melanie Lausz
melanie.lausz@wsc.nsw.gov.au
0408 627 498
Sunday 30 September 9am Bega to Tathra Community Ride Bega Tathra Road. From Bega Showground to Lawrence Park Tathra. Penny Green
pgreen@begavalley.nsw.gov.au
(02) 6499 2170
Saturday 22 September 9am Clyde River Bike Ride Corrigans Reserve, Batehaven Kate McDougall
kate.mcdougall@esc.nsw.gov.au
0408 254 636
Sunday 23 September 10am-4pm Bust a Loop MTB Skills Day Deep Creek Dam, Mogo Eurobodalla Mountain Bike Club
Bookings essential: 4474 3978
Facebook
Monday 24 September 9am Narooma to Central Tilba return via Engine Road and Mystery Bay Carpark behind Lynch's Hotel, Narooma NSW 2546 Bicycle NSW & Eurobodalla Bicycle User Group. Ph Guy 0244738376. Call to Confirm
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Sunday 30 September 1pm Get on your Bike Leeton  Leeton Town Ovals near the Bicycle Training Facility. Steph Puntoriero
stephaniep@leeton.nsw.gov.au
0427 837 974
Monday 17 Septebmer 8am Ride to School Day, Wagga Wagga Christian College Wagga Wagga Christian College
401 Kooringal Road
Wagga Wagga
Heidi Combs
heidi.combs@waggachristian.nsw.edu.au
0412 189 902
Friday 21 September 9am Ladysmith Public School Ladysmith Public School Catherine Barry
ladysmith-p.school@det.nsw.edu.au
0408 176 909
Sunday 23 September 10am Bring out your Bike Narrandera Marie Bashir Park Narrandera Elizabeth Mudford
rso@narrandera.nsw.gov.au
0428 087 050
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Sunday 23 September 8am Ride Around The River Start / finish at Macksville showground ride around the Nambucca Valley Peter Joyce
peter@croc.com.au
0412 869 308
Tuesday 25 September 7am Cycle Safety Week Various locations in Ballina along shared path and popular road cycling routes over Bike Week. Helen Carpenter
Helen.Carpenter@ballina.nsw.gov.au
0400 319 275
Wednesday 26 September 10pm Tweed Bike Week exchange Various (bikes dropped off at Bike shops, Community groups redistributed at community centres) Alana Brooks
abrooks@tweed.nsw.gov.au
0424 295 443
 
Thursday 27 September 6.30am Ride2Work BBQ  Hay Street Forecourt - outside of Port Central Shops, Port Macquarie Pip Cox
pip.cox@PMHC.nsw.gov.au
0439 760 638
Saturday 29 September 12.14pm Bike Safety in the Rocks Trial Bay Gaol caravan park to Brighton Park and on to Horseshoe Bay via cycle way at South West Rocks.

Refreshments and information stall will be at Horseshoe Bay Reserve.
Marilyn Breen
marilyn.breen@kempsey.nsw.gov.au
0428 663 147
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Sunday 16 September 10.30am Family Fun Creek Ride Curtis Park, Armidale Tom Fisher
tomfisher.222@gmail.com
0447 957 381
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Friday 28 September TBC Bike It - Around Our town Gol Gol school grounds and township culminating in a community BBQ at the park and brief safety talk from a prominent local bicycle rider Glen Walker
glen.g.walker@det.nsw.edu.au
0488 228 206
Date Time Event name Location Contact
Saturday 29 September 10am Ride and Go Seek Cowra Peace Precinct, Cnr Evans Street and Sakura Avenue Lisa Robertson
lrobertson@cowra.nsw.gov.au
0422 688 449
Saturday 29 September 10am-1pm Oberon Family  Bikeride The Bike ride will commence at the Oberon Netball Courts and will proceed along the 5km cycleway on Lowes Mount Road. Ivy Jean
ivy.jean@oberon.nsw.gov.au
0403 220 502
Sunday 23 September 11am Coolah Fun Ride Bowen Oval, Coolah Cheyenne O'Brien
Cheyenne.O'Brien@warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au
Saturday 22 September 8.30am Doganabuganaram Ride Binnaway Sports Oval Cheyenne O'Brien
Cheyenne.O'Brien@warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au
Sunday 30 September 9-11am Ride for the stars Hell Yeah Sport and Activities Centre, Dalgarno Street, Coonabarabran Cheyenne O'Brien
Cheyenne.O'Brien@warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au
Sunday 23 September 9.30am Tri-Cycling Gosling Creek Scott Maunder
smaunder@orange.nsw.gov.au
0418 919 120