Skip to main content

Snowy Mountains

Snowy Mountains bus service

Let public transport take you to the slopes

Return service from Jindabyne to Perisher or Thredbo runs every 30 minutes during peak and is the most affordable and stress-free way to get to the ski fields.

Return tickets include your entry into the national park.

Book now to secure your seat

A popular skiing and snowboarding destination, the Snowy Mountains region is located in southern NSW and includes the Kosciuszko National Park.

Major centres within the Snowy Mountains include Jindabyne, Cooma, Tumut, Tumbarumba, Berridale, Dalgety and Bombala.

During snow season, from June to September, you can visit the snow resorts of Thredbo, Perisher, Charlotte Pass and Mount Selwyn. With year-round fly fishing, the warmer months are ideal for mountain biking, bush walking and horse riding activities.

The region is well known for the Snowy Mountains Scheme, Australia’s greatest engineering project that creates hydro-electricity. Other attractions include the UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve, the limestone Yarrangobilly Caves, the Tuross Falls and the platypus reserve in Bombala.

Find out more about the Snowy Mountains and other nearby attractions at

Getting to the Snowy Mountains

The Snowy Mountains is located in the South East and Tablelands region of NSW, around 490 kilometres from Sydney.

NSW TrainLink Regional train and coach services run between Sydney and Cooma, Jindabyne and Bombala, via Canberra. There are services between Sydney and Tumut and Tumbarumba too, via Cootamundra. From Sydney or Canberra services connect to most other major centres. Find a timetable and book your seat.

Getting around the Snowy Mountains

Private bus operators and taxi services run throughout the Snowy Mountains. Find an operator in the Snowy Mountains.