Skip to main content

Opal peak and off-peak metro/train fares

Opal metro/train fares are discounted by 30 per cent when you travel outside of peak times on the Opal network when you use your Opal card or a contactless payment.

Your fare will be calculated from the time when you tap on.

On weekends and public holidays, all fares are charged as off-peak. Travel all day on Sundays and pay no more than $2.80 ($2.50 for Gold Senior/Pensioner Opal card users). There is no off-peak discount when using an Opal single ticket.

Days of the week Sydney metro/train network peak times Intercity trains peak times
Monday to Friday

7am – 9am

4pm – 6.30pm

6am – 8am

4pm – 6.30pm

    Look up your station to check peak times

    Variations to peak travel times from Intercity stations

    During the week, morning peak travel times can vary depending on which station you tap on at. Use the Trip Planner or Opal Travel app to calculate Opal fares.

    Evening peak travel times are the same from all stations within the Opal network.

    Monday to Friday Stations
    Off-peak fares all morning
    • Aberdeen
    • Bathurst
    • Branxton
    • Dungog
    • Greta
    • Hilldale
    • Lochinvar
    • Martins Creek
    • Mindaribba
    • Muswellbrook
    • Paterson
    • Scone
    • Singleton
    • Wallarobba
    • Wirragulla
    Peak fares between 6am-6.45am
    • Lithgow
    Peak fares between 6am-7am
    • Beresfield
    • East Maitland
    • Hexham
    • High Street
    • Maitland
    • Metford
    • Sandgate
    • Tarro
    • Telarah
    • Thornton
    • Victoria Street
    • Warabrook
    • Waratah
    Peak fares between 6am-7.15am
    • Bell
    • Hamilton
    • Newcastle Interchange
    • Mount Victoria
    • Zig Zag
    Peak fares between 6am-7.30am
    • Adamstown
    • Blackheath
    • Booragul
    • Broadmeadow
    • Cardiff
    • Cockle Creek
    • Goulburn
    • Katoomba
    • Kotara
    • Leura
    • Marulan
    • Medlow Bath
    • Tallong
    • Teralba
    Peak fares between 6am-7.45am
    • Awaba
    • Bullaburra
    • Fassifern
    • Lawson
    • Hazelbrook
    • Wentworth Falls